Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

iMac 17" or iMac 20" ?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
iMac 17" or iMac 20" ?
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
StevesMom

2005-11-06, 10:03

I've decided to buy one of the new iMac's (G5 1.9GHz/2.1Ghz, PCI-Express architecture, "round-back" models) but am having some trouble working out which version is best to buy "all-round"

Clearly performance will be slightly better on the bigger 20", but I'm wondering if it's genuinely £300 (Pounds Sterling, I'm a UK resident) better. I'm prepared to spend the money, but the 20" is 30% more expensive than the 17" version and I'm wondering if it's worth it. It's this quandary I'm looking for purchasing advice on.

The Mac will be used for general use (I'm a reasonably frequent iMovie user but have no "Pro" apps), and World of Warcraft, so perhaps the XT video graphics in the 20" is markedly better than the Pro video graphics in the 17" and is therefore worth the extra ?

All advice gratefully received.

Regards,

SM.

Rick: This is bad.
Evelyn: We've had bad before.
Rick: This is worse.
Franz Josef
Passing by

2005-11-06, 12:02

If your budget stretches that far, go for 20" - no doubt about it - better performance and bigger screen real estate. The £300 will mean less to you than sitting in front of that 20" screen.
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472

2005-11-06, 13:16

Seems to me the 20" will fit you better for longer. Ot will serve your needs and needs to come much longer then the 17". Plus, the screen size alone really will be worth it if you can afford it.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a nation of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.â€
Visit our archived Minecraft world! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
Koodari
Veteran Member

2005-11-06, 13:53

No difference in speed.