Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Tax Writeoff MacBook and iTouch

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Tax Writeoff MacBook and iTouch
Partial
Stallion

2009-06-10, 21:17

I'm a freelance consultant who does IT work. I'm looking to make an iPhone app over the next few months. With that said, since I have an LLC, It would be legal to write off the entire expense of a new MacBook 13", iTouch and printer, right?

Also, since these items are for a business are they able to circumvent sales tax?

Thanks,
Dan

...and calling/e-mailing/texting ex-girlfriends on the off-chance they'll invite you over for some "old time's sake" no-strings couch gymnastics...
torifile
Less than Stellar Member

Send a message via AIM to torifile  
2009-06-10, 21:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by Partial View Post
I'm a freelance consultant who does IT work. I'm looking to make an iPhone app over the next few months. With that said, since I have an LLC, It would be legal to write off the entire expense of a new MacBook 13", iTouch and printer, right?

Also, since these items are for a business are they able to circumvent sales tax?

Thanks,
Dan
Yes, you can write them off. The sales tax thing is probably a no since, as far as I know, only things for bought for resale don't get taxed. It might be a state by state thing.

If it's not red and showing substantial musculature, you're wearing it wrong.
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472

2009-06-10, 21:41

Yes, but you'll need to be sure to depreciate them as well as claim them for taxes in your locality. Virginia charges tax on property by business owns as well as my city. Needless to say it's all about taxes. They all want their hand in it.