Time to upgrade my old G5 Quad

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Time to upgrade my old G5 Quad
jcoley2
Veteran Member

Send a message via AIM to jcoley2  
2009-09-09, 20:53

Guys and Gals,

I am going to finally toss the towel in and upgrade my nearly four year old Quad G5. I do a lot of video encoding (for football as I am a coach) and generally run a lot of apps simultaneously. I am a big data user (my excel files are huge.) I was thinking of buying a 8-core for future software and looking on eBay tonight, but apple has had so many different models over the last year it is really confusing. Where should I start. I can afford pretty much anything but want a good deal!!!!

Now that I got a job, I can buy more Apple products!
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*

2009-09-09, 20:55

Why not check the refurb store and see what they got to offer? Everyone here raves about it, though I've never really used it.
jcoley2
Veteran Member

2009-09-09, 21:00

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yontsey View Post
Why not check the refurb store and see what they got to offer? Everyone here raves about it, though I've never really used it.
Thanks, I just did. Found one 2.93GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon "Nehalem" processors for $900 less than new. That does not really turn me on.

BTW, do I go with "Nehalem" processors or not?

PB PM
Sneaky Punk

Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2009-09-10, 00:29

Nehalem (Core i7 server grade chips) chips are the newest generation Intel CPUs in Mac Pros.
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited

2009-09-10, 01:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoley2 View Post
Thanks, I just did. Found one 2.93GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon "Nehalem" processors for $900 less than new. That does not really turn me on.
Really?

Why not?

You'd be getting a machine with a full 1-year warranty (and you can grab a cheap AppleCare plan from Amazon) just as if it were new.
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited

2009-09-10, 01:38

Quote:
BTW, do I go with "Nehalem" processors or not?