Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Student Developer vs. EDU Discount ?'s

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Student Developer vs. EDU Discount ?'s
Page 1 of 3 [1] 2 3  Next Thread Tools
Doe

2005-01-31, 14:42

I am going to be switching over from windows and will be getting a new powerbook. I have seen some recent posts saying people have bought new powerbooks using the student developer instead of using the regular student discount. I know it costs 100 dollars to be a student developer. Is it worth going through the process of signing up to get the extra discounts? Will it take just as long to get a powerbook if I bought it using the student developer versus just using the educational discount? Can someone give me a brief overview on how this actually works? I am a fulltime student at a University that apple recognizes. I am looking at getting either the 15'' or 12'' powerbook.

Thanks Dan
Paul
Veteran Member

2005-01-31, 15:41

Are you going to actually start developing Mac OS X applications?
Doe

2005-01-31, 15:54

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
Are you going to actually start developing Mac OS X applications?
I have to do some web design in one of my classes next semester. I dont think I will be doing any Mac OSX applications though.

Anyone have any info on this?
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-01-31, 15:57

By signing up for a student developer account, you can get a ONE TIME (that's once in a lifetime. period.) purchase from the ADC Hardware Purchase Program. Depending on what you choose to order, using this method can cost much less than purchasing through the regular Apple Store for Education.

Yes, ADC purchases can take longer to fulfill after new product intros than regular orders will. Also, there are no refunds on items purchased through the ADC program. There are other small caveats as well.

Read the information at the links I've provided here and all of your questions should be answered.