User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Replacing a hard drive...use Carbon Copy Cloner?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Replacing a hard drive...use Carbon Copy Cloner?
Thread Tools
pscates2.0
Mariska's monkey
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
Old 2012-04-15, 17:05

Is this what most people do? From all I've read online, watched on YouTube, etc., you'd use as the source the current hard drive (the one being replaced). You use as the target the new drive. Then CCC (or whatever app does this sort of thing) then makes a copy of everything to that new drive, so all you have to do is pop it into the machine and everything is just like it was?

Is this correct? No having to migrate or twiddle with prefs and settings, reinstalling apps, putting your iTunes and iPhoto libraries back together, etc.

And when you format this new drive, do it as one partition, using the GUID setting and Mac OS Extended (Journaled)?

I'm just wanting final confirmation/yes from folks here I trust, and who live and breathe this stuff more than I do...

Brad, chucker, Eugene and others...give me the thumbs-up, please, and confirm my above understanding/approach (and let me know if I'm leaving anything out).

pscates2.0 is offline   quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
Old 2012-04-15, 17:09

I don't have experience with creating a bootable drive using CCC, but I do (positively) with SuperDuper!.

That said, yeah, should work just fine.
chucker is offline   quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
Old 2012-04-15, 17:11

Quote:
Originally Posted by pscates2.0 View Post
And when you format this new drive, do it as one partition, using the GUID setting and Mac OS Extended (Journaled)?
Yep.
chucker is offline   quote
pscates2.0
Mariska's monkey
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
Old 2012-04-15, 17:15

Cool. Thanks. I had gathered all this from reading and watching videos. I just like to know I'm on the right path...

I'll give SuperDuper a look too. Is it as straightforward and to-the-point as CCC seems to be (that even I understood it at a glance)?
pscates2.0 is offline   quote
Partial
Stallion
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Milwaukee
 
Old 2012-09-07, 21:42

I've bought an SSD to speed up my MBP. I want to migrate the entire drive and get the best performance. Will SuperDuper work for this task? I'm replacing the HDD with the SSD.

...and calling/e-mailing/texting ex-girlfriends on the off-chance they'll invite you over for some "old time's sake" no-strings couch gymnastics...
Partial is offline   quote
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slightly Off Center
 
Old 2012-09-07, 23:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by pscates2.0 View Post
Cool. Thanks. I had gathered all this from reading and watching videos. I just like to know I'm on the right path...

I'll give SuperDuper a look too. Is it as straightforward and to-the-point as CCC seems to be (that even I understood it at a glance)?
I find SuperDuper to have waaay more of that than CCC.
+++ SuperDuper.
FFL is offline   quote
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slightly Off Center
 
Old 2012-09-07, 23:51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Partial View Post
I've bought an SSD to speed up my MBP. I want to migrate the entire drive and get the best performance. Will SuperDuper work for this task? I'm replacing the HDD with the SSD.
Yep.

I just swapped my old SSD for a newer, faster, larger one a few days ago.

I started the cloning the existing drive onto the new SSD (which was in an external FireWire case) using SuperDuper, walked away for a few hours, and SuperDuper was done.

I swapped the drives, and shaved several seconds off of my already-quick boot time immediately.
FFL is offline   quote
screensaver400
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
 
Old 2012-09-08, 11:37

FWIW, I always just install a fresh copy of the OS on the new drive, then use Migration Assistant to copy over my files and settings. Not sure if the CCC method is better or worse, but I've never had any problems.
screensaver400 is offline   quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with mirroring Mac's Hard Drive for Hard Drive Upgrade RickR10 Genius Bar 2 2007-06-25 12:05
Airport Express Base Station-How reliable as server hard drive? Which Hard Drive? markw10 Apple Products 6 2007-01-16 09:33
carbon copy cloner and failing drive... rminkler Genius Bar 2 2005-12-07 00:20
can i carbon copy clone a new powermac's hd and still have upgrade assistant work? admactanium Genius Bar 0 2005-11-29 21:23
question about carbon copy cloner waiting to be enlightened Apple Products 1 2005-05-08 01:31


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2014, AppleNova