User Name
Password

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Force Quit
raydanator

2011-03-07, 20:39

I've been rocking my MBP for about two years now and love it, however one thing that kind of ticks me off is force quit. Sometimes when I get the spinning beach ball, it was last for quite a while but CMD+ALT+ESC does nothing until the problem has righted itself. Do you guys find this frustrating when compared to cntrl alt delete? At least Windows has instantaneous results. I've only noticed this freeze up and decreased performance basically right after booting up.

That being said, I'm thinking I should clear some space on my macbook. i've got 87 gbs left on a 390gb partition (windows using the other 100gb). What do you guys think, would extra space speed it up? Thanks!
Robo
Formerly Roboman, still
awesome

2011-03-07, 22:32

Quote:
Originally Posted by raydanator View Post
CMD+ALT+ESC
True story: I read that and thought, "it's command-option-escape, isn't it?" and Googled it to be sure. Thoroughly confused, I only then looked down on my keyboard and saw "alt" written in small letters on the corner of the option key.

I'm not very smart.

As for your actual question: no clue, although I've generally found it's a bad idea to do anything on any computer immediately upon booting it up. I let it recover from its tumultuous boot-up ordeal for a few seconds before frantically trying to open a web browser the second I can see the icon. Then everything opens with no problems or beach-balling.

I don't think hard drive space is the issue. 87GB should still give OS X plenty of room to breathe.

But there's lots of people here who know way more than I do, so.

and i guess i've known it all along / the truth is, you have to be soft to be strong
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2011-03-07, 23:12

Cmd-tab (or click through) to another app before mashing cmd-opt-esc. You'll likely have much better luck that way.
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472