User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

Mac Pro + Time Capsule

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Mac Pro + Time Capsule
Mr. X

2008-01-27, 22:09

OK, so this spring I'm buying a Mac Pro. I do lots of work with audio, and I want a powerful Mac that allows me to expand to my heart's content (tons of internal storage, power, the ability to add a sound card, etc). I'm going to start with a 1-TB HD. (I will eventually need more, but this will last for quite sometime). The most important thing for me is learning the best way to backup. I'm new to the whole Time Machine feature, which I think is phenomenal. However, if my HD were to fail, or my computer were to get stolen...would whatever is saved on Time Machine really allow me to get everything back with a new Mac, or new HD? If so, I'd get a 1TB Time Capsule. If this is the best solution, can I keep adding on to that Time Capsule? Say, down the road, I'm ready for another HD to put into my tower. Can I just daisy chain a 2nd Time Capsule to continue backing up? Finally, if there is a more secure and better solution for backing everything up in a Mac Pro, what is it? I'd love some professional advice...

My Mac--> iBook G4, 1.33 GHz w/ 80G HD & 1G RAM
My iPods--> 4G 60gb + Shuffle (512MB)
Retired--> iMac G3 DV SE, Original iPod w/ Scroll Wheel, iPod Shuffle (1G)
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472

2008-01-27, 22:32

Yes, Time Machine would allow you to restore your system to near exactly as it was on the last back up.

In your case, it would seem that a FW drive (or better still eSATA) external drive would be best suited for your Time Machine drive if you are looking to archive the whole 1TB drive.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a nation of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
Visit our archived Minecraft world! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
admactanium