User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Too good of a deal?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Too good of a deal?
Thread Tools
pilot1129
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Send a message via AIM to pilot1129  
Old 2006-05-18, 07:40

I found this site selling the MBP. Can some of you cyber sleuths check out if it would be valid or not? I honestly dont know how to. It seems like a damn good deal,

$1325 for a 1.8 ghz MBP 15"

Linky

Think its a scam?


edit: shut up WR

Last edited by pilot1129 : 2006-05-18 at 07:50.
pilot1129 is offline   quote
Windowsrookie
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to Windowsrookie Send a message via MSN to Windowsrookie Send a message via Yahoo to Windowsrookie  
Old 2006-05-18, 07:43

Quote:
Originally Posted by pilot1129
MPB
Magic Porn Boots?

I would not buy from them. I have never heard of them. Buy it from apple, or a certified reseller.

Last edited by Windowsrookie : 2006-05-18 at 08:43.
Windowsrookie is offline   quote
macleod
Now in lower-case™!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
 
Old 2006-05-18, 08:01

This is just my personal opinion so don't let me stop you if you really want to try to purchase it from them do. However, I think that it is too good to be true. Some others might have a different opinion so wait a litle while and see how some more senior members maybe see this sight.
macleod is offline   quote
Sketch
Formerly “iceman009”
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Some place
 
Old 2006-05-18, 08:06

Well is there a way you can select cash on delivery? because that way they can't rip you off, because you can get the product and then you pay the money. Also, if that company is selling MBP for that cheap, the whole population would buy it. So i am not really sure about the deal here.

MacBook with Super Glue...seriously though
Sketch is offline   quote
kgarchar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
 
Old 2006-05-18, 18:13

there is no cod option, but the site has a "30 Day Satisfaction Guaranteed or Your Money Back"

wtf! it also has free shipping. the only thing is, even though it has the visa/mc and paypal logos at the bottom, you have to pay via western union wire transfer
kgarchar is offline   quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
Old 2006-05-18, 18:17

Quote:
Originally Posted by pilot1129
Think its a scam?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgarchar
you have to pay via western union wire transfer
...which is commonplace for scammers. They get the sucker's cash immediately without having to deal with setting up accounts with credit companies to receive payment.
Brad is offline   quote
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slightly Off Center
 
Old 2006-05-18, 18:41

yep, scam.

they won't even give their telephone number


Edit: a quick WHOIS usually exposes scams like this very quickly

Quote:
Domain name: VENCOELECTRONICA.COM


Record last updated on 07-May-2006.
Record expires on 07-May-2007.
Record created on 07-May-2006.
FFL is offline   quote
MrENGLISH™
HerrDEUTSCH™
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 
Old 2006-05-18, 18:57

I got this info from GoDaddy
Quote:
Domain Name: VENCOELECTRONICA.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net
Referral URL: http://domainhelp.tucows.com
Name Server: NS2.HOSTCENTRIC.COM
Name Server: NS1.HOSTCENTRIC.COM
Status: ACTIVE
EPP Status: ok
Updated Date: 07-May-2006
Creation Date: 07-May-2006
Expiration Date: 07-May-2007
The creation date definitely scares me enough to stay away from this site. Only 11 days old

EDIT:
FFL you must have just edited your post

this message was brought to you by MrENGLISH™
WARNING: may contain Sarcasm and/or Bad Spelling
MrENGLISH™ is offline   quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
Old 2006-05-18, 19:03

A reverse address lookup reveals that this is the domain owner's home. Definitely a little odd running an electronics retailer out of your house.

http://www.whitepages.com/10001/sear...le&state_id=KY

The phone number listed is a cell phone, but the number has been ported to a different carrier, so I couldn't get the records for it with a basic reverse lookup. I'm assuming it belongs to the domain owner. Anybody want to call and harrass him?
Wyatt is offline   quote
MrENGLISH™
HerrDEUTSCH™
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 
Old 2006-05-18, 19:10

Quote:
Originally Posted by fcgriz
Anybody want to call and harrass him?
Did you have to ask?

Of course we would

Let the prank calls begin
MrENGLISH™ is offline   quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
Old 2006-05-18, 19:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrENGLISH™
Did you have to ask?

Of course we would

Let the prank calls begin
Just remember I didn't give you the number. He did.
Wyatt is offline   quote
World Leader Pretend
Ruling teh World
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston, MA
 
Old 2006-05-20, 16:39

Anyone else think it's just a bit disturbing how much info can be found from a website??

How do you do a WHOIS search and reverse address lookup?
World Leader Pretend is offline   quote
_Ω_
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Send a message via AIM to _Ω_  
Old 2006-05-20, 17:05

http://www.resellerratings.com/forum...hreadid=118666
_Ω_ is offline   quote
Yonzie
Mac Mini Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
 
Old 2006-05-20, 19:03

Hmm... it seems like it's legit cause it's a 1.83Ghz MBP and I guess they need to clear them out due to the upgrade... right?
So they had stock but now I got it all

Naw, just kidding.
Quote:
How do I pay for my order?
Payment Is Arranged In One Of Two Ways:

For Orders Over US $ 2,000.00:
Accept Bank Wire Transfer payments, Western Union and E-gold.
Bank Wire Transfer may take 3-4 business days to confirm. It must be confirmed by our bank before shipping can take place.

For Orders Under US $ 2,000.00:
Accept Western Union and E-gold. Due to fraud concerns, Credit Cards and PayPal are not accepted anymore.
You will be notified by email, with the procedure to follow for making the payment and the total amount to send.
Credit Card and PayPal not accepted due to fraud but Western Union are OK?
Western Union are a favourite of scammers, and I even heard of a guy sending money through them where it never arrived...

If it's too good to be true, it usually is.
Yonzie is offline   quote
Robo
Formerly Roboman, still
awesome
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: on twitter! @werejack
 
Old 2006-05-20, 19:22

I think "Magic Porn Boots" is the new "P-P-P-Powerbook!"
Robo is offline   quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
Old 2006-05-20, 20:44

Quote:
Originally Posted by World Leader Pretend
Anyone else think it's just a bit disturbing how much info can be found from a website??

How do you do a WHOIS search and reverse address lookup?
A whois search can be done here: http://www.whois.net/

A reverse address lookup can be performed at http://www.whitepages.com/ for residential U.S. phone numbers and at http://www.yellowpages.com/ for U.S. business phone numbers.

Sneakiness is one of my favorite skills.
Wyatt is offline   quote
Schnauzer
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arizona
 
Old 2006-05-21, 19:14

omg, scammer pwnt! :P
Schnauzer is offline   quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good schools in New England / Southern Québec? chucker AppleOutsider 19 2006-03-30 10:05
eye tv good or bad product? designerguy Purchasing Advice 21 2005-05-12 08:46
12" powerbook good for recording? i hope i pressed record Purchasing Advice 3 2005-04-11 12:47
"The Aviator"...really good! pscates2.0 AppleOutsider 6 2005-01-01 22:33
Good gaming headset? dviant Third-Party Products 0 2004-06-16 13:13


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2012, AppleNova
AppleNova Slim