User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Am I just being spoofed or is my server serving the dark side?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Am I just being spoofed or is my server serving the dark side?
Thread Tools
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Send a message via AIM to turtle Send a message via Yahoo to turtle  
Old 2010-10-17, 10:22

So my email is now run through Google Apps meaning all the issues related to me making sure I have security and all are taken care of. Basically it's pain free from me, I just have to understand that Google knows all.

Aside from that I've been getting a bunch of returned mail messages from users like "ejkhkjhefwe983" and the like at my domain. Here is a header from one of the messages that was kicked back:
Code:
Received: from smtp05.aspadmin.com (smtp05.aspadmin.com [66.240.201.20]) (using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by mx2.spamarrest.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 726DCC84E04 for <stevenconley@spamarrest.com>; Sun, 17 Oct 2010 01:29:46 -0500 (CDT) Received: from dish4028.net.ibizdns.com (dish4028.net.ibizdns.com [209.126.254.72]) by smtp05.aspadmin.com (8.13.8/8.13.4) with ESMTP id o9H6V8SW001840 for <stevenconley@spamarrest.com>; Sat, 16 Oct 2010 23:31:08 -0700 Received: from dish4028.net.ibizdns.com (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by dish4028.net.ibizdns.com (8.13.4/8.13.4) with ESMTP id o9H6TjCx032680 (version=TLSv1/SSLv3 cipher=DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA bits=256 verify=NO) for <stevenconley@spamarrest.com>; Sat, 16 Oct 2010 23:29:45 -0700 Received: (from sconley@wecareworldwide.com@localhost) by dish4028.net.ibizdns.com (8.13.4/8.13.4/Submit) id o9H6TjhS032677 for stevenconley@spamarrest.com; Sat, 16 Oct 2010 23:29:45 -0700 X-Authentication-Warning: dish4028.net.ibizdns.com: sconley@wecareworldwide.com set sender to "Licensed Pfizer Shop" <euzecoly1431@mydomain.com> using -f Received: from [188.48.15.99] ([188.48.15.99]) by dish4028.net.ibizdns.com (8.13.4/8.13.4) with ESMTP id o9H6TYDv032649 for <globalpartners@wecareworldwide.com>; Sat, 16 Oct 2010 23:29:39 -0700 Received: from mail.wecareworldwide.com (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by mail.wecareworldwide.com (8.14.4/8.14.4) with SMTP id 3eE45e3AA2DF64 for <globalpartners@wecareworldwide.com>; Sun, 17 Oct 2010 09:29:37 +0300 (envelope-from euzecoly1431@mydomain.com) Message-Id: <20101017929.adb63FD470df1A@[188.48.15.99]> Subject: Hi globalpartners, 80% OFF! in from of include consumption Date: Sun, 17 Oct 2010 09:29:37 +0300 Mime-Version: 1.0 From: "Licensed Pfizer Shop" <euzecoly1431@mydomain.com> To: globalpartners@wecareworldwide.com Content-Type: text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1 X-MailThrottle-Validated: 1 X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.0.4 (2005-06-05) on dish4028.net.ibizdns.com X-Spam-Level: X-Spam-Status: No, score=-0.6 required=5.0 tests=BAYES_00,HTML_80_90, HTML_FONT_FACE_CAPS,HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_24,HTML_MESSAGE,MIME_HTML_ONLY autolearn=no version=3.0.4 Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable Received-SPF: none(mydomain.com: mydomain.com does not designate permitted sender hosts)
None of the IP addresses in the header are for my server or my home so this leads me to think that I'm being spoofed, but the problem is I'm not getting my domain blacklisted. How can I fix this and where do I turn the spoofing off if that is what it is?

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
turtle is offline   quote
WrestleEwe
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utrecht NL
Send a message via Skype™ to WrestleEwe 
Old 2010-10-18, 05:25

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtle2472 View Post
X-Authentication-Warning: dish4028.net.ibizdns.com: sconley@wecareworldwide.com set sender to "Licensed Pfizer Shop" <euzecoly1431@mydomain.com> using -f
Received: from [188.48.15.99] ([188.48.15.99])
This means that some spambot sends messages with a altered sender field. This message was sent from somewhere nowhere near your email server.

Unfortunately, there is nothing you can do about this.
Fortunately, most mailservers are smart enough to see through this trick and not add your domain to their blacklists.

Hope this helps.
WrestleEwe is offline   quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Send a message via AIM to turtle Send a message via Yahoo to turtle  
Old 2010-10-26, 22:10

Man, I've still got to get my server off a spammers list. It seems that this spoofing is the cause, but spam cannibal says they won't blacklist your server unless *IT* is sending the spam.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
turtle is offline   quote
Ebby
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Over Yander
Send a message via AIM to Ebby  
Old 2010-10-27, 12:14

I have my catchall activated and get about 460,000 of those spams a month. Still not blacklisted and I do wish some big companies got together to develop "E-mail 2.0" to take care of these stupid weaknesses.


^^ One more quality post from the desk of Ebby. ^^
SSBA | SmockBogger | SporkNET
Ebby is offline   quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to add a web-app to my portfolio, server side scripting q Partial Programmer's Nook 0 2008-06-08 01:35
Server-side photo gallery software? Ryan Programmer's Nook 5 2007-08-13 20:00
Pissed at Apple... Inching closer and closer towards the dark side... losslesshead General Discussion 17 2006-08-07 11:17
The Transition To The Dark Side Is Complete... DrGruv Apple Products 9 2006-04-24 08:35
OSX 10.3 server not serving via vpn gsxrboy Genius Bar 0 2004-09-04 20:15


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2012, AppleNova
AppleNova Slim