PDA

View Full Version : I NEED HELP! Powerbook or Powermac?

davidfalling
2005-11-07, 15:41
OKay, so this is my first time posting on these forums, i am about to make the switch from windows to mac.
So here is my question: Should i get a powermac or a powerbook? I am a college student, who is going to school for audio engineering and i will be using pretty intensive programs. (pro tools, logic, reason, photoshop, flash, maybe a little bif of final cut, and i might play a little game now and then...doom3, etc)

The dillema i am having is that i am afraid if i buy a powerbook it wont be powerful enough with its single core g4 processor, slower front side bus, 32 bit, etc.
Portability would be great, but its not a requirement. Right now i have a laptop and i use it all over the house or at friends houses, (which is really nice!) but i dont take it to school so much because its HUGE (dell inspiron 5150..weighs like 10lbs!) note: i plan on getting rid of the laptop when i buy my mac.

It just seems like the dual core 2.0ghz g5 entry level powermac would be a lot better performance wise than a 1.67 ghz g4 15" powerbook. AND i feel like the powermac might not be outdated as fast. Since the dual core G5s are pretty new and the g4 has been around for sooo long. I also keep hearing about the switch to intel. I feel like even if the powermacs switch to intel, the performance on a g5 would still be pretty comparable, but if the powerbooks switch to intel then the performance is just gonna go through the roof!

note: i play on getting 2 gigs of ram either way.

Thanks so much for your help! :)

Yontsey
2005-11-07, 15:54
id say if portabiity is not an issue definatly go with the powermac with as much ram as you can get. i use logic a lot to do multitrack recordings and i have 1.5 gig and i wish i had more, ill go up to 2 when i can afford it. but id definitly say go powermac and just get as much ram as you can afford

kretara
2005-11-07, 16:09