PDA

View Full Version : Learning Cocoa?

pmazer
2005-11-17, 16:48
I'm an experienced programmer who wants to get started writing in Objective C and Cocoa. Does anyone have any suggestions for reading material to learn both of these?

Brad
2005-11-17, 16:52
The O'Reilly books always get high praise. I picked up Aaron Hillegass' Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X from the library a while back and I thought it was pretty good. I intend to pick it up again when I have time to really dive into some code. He also has a book titled Advanced Mac OS X Programming, but I haven't read that.

pmazer
2005-11-23, 04:05
I'm currently reading through Aaron Hillegass' book, and it seems to be doing a good job. One of the only things I don't quite get yet, though, is NSAutoreleasePool. In one of the examples (a Foundation Tool), he creates an NSAutoreleasePool in the main function, and calls a method inside. In that method, an object is created and then autoreleased so it can be returned. Is that object released after it is returned, or after the pool is released?

Mr Beardsley
2005-11-23, 11:32
I'll try to answer your question as best I can.

Have you worked through retaining and releasing objects yet? If so all NSAutoReleasePool does, is to hold on to objects and release them at a later time. If you create an object and you just need it to exist in your method, you can add it to the AutoReleasePool, and it will be deallocated sometime after you return from that method. At some point on the run loop the pool will be sent a message to release all its objects, at which point the pool sends the release message to all the objects it contains and they are deallocated.