PDA

View Full Version : Best Third Party HD for Quad


jcoley2
2005-12-02, 09:19
I am not too technical, so any purchasing advise on this would be greatly appreciated. I saw this on Bare Feats:

December 2nd, 2005 (Updated) -- "Seagate 7200.9 500GB drive can't be 'seen' by G5 Power Mac's built-in SATA controller." That's what I'm hearing from various sources. Seagate says the problem is related to the fact that SSC (Spread Spectrum Clocking) is enabled. Apparently there is a DOS utility that can turn off SSC. And when that's done, according to multiple sources, the Seagate 7200.9 mounts fine. We haven't confirmed this in our lab but hope to soon.

What's confusing is that Hitachi and Western Digital drives mount fine even when SSC is enabled. That flies in the face of our initial conclusion that SSC was the cause. I can say that, though the enabled SSC on the Seagate drive may not be the root cause, disabling it removes the offending symptom.

The problem doesn't just occur with new Quad/Dual-Core G5 Power Macs. It affects earlier models. I was wrong when I said that Apple was using a different SATA controller in the new models.

That story above is on the website.

I was planning to upgrade the drives on my upcoming Quad to the Seagate 7200.9 as I have read good things about it. (Although I hear Apple is using the Hitachi drives.)

Assuming I understand the above correct, I should be able to buy the following and have no problems using them--correct?

http://www.cluboc.net/reviews/hard_drives/seagate/7200.9/

I also see from one of the websites that the actual interface is Serial ATA-300. Is that the correct one for a Quad?

709
2005-12-02, 11:17
The Quad is SATA I (or SATA-150). You really don't need a 7200.9, a 7200.8 would do just fine, though I think they max out at 400GB. Heck, I just ordered an inexpensive (~100.00) 250GB 7200.8 from Newegg (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148065) for my Quad to tide me over until Sonnet gets their SATA PCIe shit together.

jcoley2
2005-12-02, 11:49
The Quad is SATA I (or SATA-150). .

So what is SATA-300 that the 7200.9 is described, SATA II or something liek that? Is sthe Quad motherboard or controller unable to use SATA-300?

I do not see a SATA-150 Seagate 7200.9, and the largest 7200.8 drive I can find is 300 GB. Note that the transfer rate is rated at half according to the desciption I see, but may be that is not a big deal. Ideally, if I am going to spend the money to upgrade the drives, I would prefer to get as much disk space as possible (which I assume is the 500 GB amount.)

Thoughts?

709
2005-12-02, 12:07
So what is SATA-300 that the 7200.9 is described, SATA II or something liek that?Yes. SATA II is the same thing as SATA-300 or SATA 3.0Gb.

Is sthe Quad motherboard or controller unable to use SATA-300?Apparently not this specific flavour of Seagate drive. I know that some of the other 3.0Gb drives have a set of pins on the back that you can move around to make it act like a SATA I drive, but I've got no clue about this one.

I do not see a SATA-150 Seagate 7200.9, and the largest 7200.8 drive I can find is 300 GB. Note that the transfer rate is rated at half according to the desciption I see, but may be that is not a big deal.Right. The 7200.9 doesn't come in a 150 model, and the largest 7200.8 150 is indeed 400GB (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148063) . That said, you'll never max out SATA-150 with just one or two drives. Ever. I'm guessing you'd need around a 24-32 drive RAID to do that. SATA II is just marketing voodoo. Nobody on this board is ever going to to be able to afford a personal RAID that pushes the 3.0Gg/s limit. At least not until the actual drives can push data out a *LOT* faster.

Ideally, if I am going to spend the money to upgrade the drives, I would prefer to get as much disk space as possible (which I assume is the 500 GB amount.)Well, dollar to drive space you're getting screwed with the 500GB drive.

admactanium
2005-12-02, 16:45
it doesn't see the 7200.9 drives for some reason. i have two of them sitting in a box that i can't use. probably going to ebay them rather than pay newegg's exorbitant restocking fee.

709
2005-12-02, 16:52
Well, depending on what you're planning on using you Quad for, you could get a HighPoint 2320 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16816115026) PCI-E SATA controller ($254.00), and a SwiftData200 (http://transintl.com/store/category.cfm?Category=2490&RequestTimeOut=500) or G5 Jive (http://www.sonnettech.com/product/g5_jive.html) (~80.00-$100.00). Stripe the 2 and you'd have a pretty snazzy 1GB drive (and room for 2 more drives).

Personally I'm holding out for Sonnet to come out with their Tempo 4x4. External ports make all the difference for me...but I'll probably do something similar to the above with 4 disks.

jcoley2
2005-12-02, 17:05
Well, depending on what you're planning on using you Quad for, .

Most data intensive thing I need to do near term is finish editing and producing football films (I head coach) for 2 teams over 4 seasons (about 40 hours of film I am working with.) I am using FCE 2. I currently have them on a 250 GB and 300 GB LeCie external drives. Originally I order the Quad with 2 500 GB drives so I could move the unfinished work onto the internal drives and speed up the editting. i have updated my order and cancelled them and left the standard 250 GB option in, and am thinking of just using Firewire 800 connections and leave the unfinished work on the external drives and complete them this way.

Then, later make a final decision on what to do about internal drives. I am assuming that the Firewire 800 will speed things up. It is painfully slow using FCE on my PB 17" with Firewire 400.

709
2005-12-02, 17:34
FireWire 800 is a dream. I'll never go back to 400 if I can help it. Of course, it's probably not going to be as fast as an internal SATA drive, but the portability is nice. I've got one of these (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/MEFW912AL2/) fitted with 2 300GB Seagate drives. It's pretty quick...and it's nice that I can yank it off my desktop and work at home on my PB if I feel like it.

jcoley2
2005-12-08, 13:27
Interesting test I just found on Net given that the Seagate 7200.9 drives do not seem to be supported by the Quad motherboard/controller:

http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-317-1.htm

Just to be clear, though, this Hitachi Drive (7K500) is SATA-II but will still work in the Quad (ie., it is backward compatible)--correct?

(What is also interesting is several online webstores list the 7K500 as SATA-150 but in fact, when you read the detailed description, it is in fact a SATA-300.)

Just don't want to make a mistake before I buy an additional drive.

admactanium
2005-12-09, 08:16
i complained to seagate about the 7200.9 drives not working in the quad and they sent me replacements. better than pay for the restocking fee at newegg. i now have around 870 Gb free on my hard drive. haha.

jcoley2
2005-12-09, 08:25
I think I will go with the Hitachi's just to be safe (as soon as someone confirms to me here in this post that the SATA-II will work on Quads.)

AndyX-
2005-12-12, 19:14
I went with the Seagate 7200.8 400GB and bought an extra 2gb Ram with the cash saved from buying the 500GB...