PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook G4 Now?

jevau
2005-12-24, 02:49
Hey guys, i am a freshman in college and a visual arts major focusing in photography and possibly graphic design and i'm currently looking at buying a new 17 inch PowerBook G4. i declared my major this october and found out that my school's computer labs are all mac (while i currently own all PC). i start my art and photograhy courses at the end of january and i wanted to buy a PowerBook to have for Spring semester, but the rumors about intel PBs at MWSF are really weighing down my decision.

the options im thinking about are:
1. after christmas, head on up to the Apple store and drop the money for a new 17" PB
OR
2. wait for MWSF and the posible release of intel powerbooks and then wait even longer for shipping (i heard even if they were released, you might not recieve one until may)

i've read a lot of other forums and threads about this same decision, but i really want to know if the current PBs will last me, say 3 years, of photo editing and maybe some graphic design. can i just buy one now and not really worry about the intel update?

Brad
2005-12-24, 03:13
Welcome to AppleNova! :)

Yes, the current PowerBook can last you for three years. If you use the battery a lot, you'll probably want to replace it half-way through that much time.

Yes, if you wait for Intel PowerBooks, you'll probably be waiting a long time before you actually get it in your hands. Not many people think about the months-long delay that often follow product launches when factoring their decision. I'm glad to see that you did. ;)

Yes, you can buy now and not really worry about the Intel PowerBooks. The next major update for Mac OS X (not due any time soon), all of Apple's own future apps, and the overwhelming majority of future third-party titles will continue to operate on the current PowerPC platform thanks to Apple's ingenious "universal binary" implementation.

jevau
2005-12-24, 03:31