PDA

View Full Version : MacBook? (Another one... Sorry!)

ChrisUK
2006-01-12, 13:25
Hey guys.

I've been reading your forum for months, trying to weigh up when the best time to buy my first Mac is.

I was going to purchase an iBook months ago but was informed by a friend of the whole "Intel thing" meaning I waited and waited and now have enough money for the MacBook and I’m just finding that I really need a laptop as soon as.

I'm a student doing media, computing etc and the draw to Apple is the supposed "greatness" for Photoshop and video editing, so that’s all great (I’m aware of the whole binary thing, but I don’t have a Mac licence for Photoshop anyway so I’d have to buy a new copy down the line). I'm prepared to part with the cash, admittedly more than I planned to spend in the first place, if I'm sure this laptop will last for at least 3/4 years? It has to get me through Uni after college, and I know that Apple will revise it down the line but I can’t keep waiting before I get a laptop.

Should I go for the MacBook (I REALLY want to make the switch!) or is it simply going to become obsolete quickly because it’s this supposed “incomplete” “stopgap” notebook. If that is the case, then should I just go for a fully fitted out Sony or a Dell or something? I don’t want to regret purchasing it, because it has to last, but at the same time I just want to make the switch to OS X! (I must be the most irritating sort of consumer on the market ;))

I read a lot of stuff about “never buying a Rev A product from Apple”. How much truth is in that? Like I said, I can’t keep waiting forever, I need a Laptop, so if I want to buy a Mac at this time using that "Rev. A" theory… I have a choice of buying old outdated hardware at a similar cost, that’s slow and generally “yuck” but has lots of native software or a new machine that will probably fall apart within a year and Apple will refuse to fix it. Sounds pretty lose-lose to me (Yet I still want one, I’m crazy!)!