PDA

View Full Version : I'm new...and I need help...with Mac buying...

machick
2006-01-14, 20:14
Hi,

First of all, let me say that I am both a semi-new (Just started using on a regular basis in November 2005) Mac user and am also new to the forum, so please don't be mad if 12 billion other users have posted this.

I am a student who needs a laptop within the next month or so. My first inclination was to order a tricked-out MacBook Pro, but I have heard many rumors that Apples "firsts" usually have some things that need to be worked out before they become really good, and I don't want to pay $2500 for problems.

Once I heard that, I thought maybe i'd purchase a refurb 12-inch iBook with nothing on it and let that hold me over until the "better MacBooks" come along, saving my money for "the big one". However, my dad is advising me against this and is worried that I will regret my decision once the new iBooks come out.

All I need to do on the laptop for now is wireless internet (web surfing) and word processing - no video or audio or gaming or anything - not even iTunes. For me, waiting until the end of the year to see how this Intel stuff unfolds is not an option. Therefore, what do you guys think would be my best option? Should I order the MacBook Pro now or wait until everything has been "worked out"? Is PPC really that bad for the simple things I want to do?

For the whole laptop-buying project, I have about $5,000 at hand.

ghoti
2006-01-14, 20:22
Well that's a lot of money for what you need the laptop for. I would suggest buying a new iBook now. I don't know how much you save by buying a refurbished one, but you should get a recent one and money isn't really very tight. What you should get is at least 512MB of additional RAM, though, since that will make the machine much faster. But other than that, an iBook should be easily sufficient for the things you list, and will even allow you to use iTunes ;)