PDA

View Full Version : MBP RAM... easy to install??

davidfalling
2006-02-24, 20:37
Okay, so i am about to pull the trigger on my new macbook, but a lot of people are telling me to upgrade to 2gb ram on my own, instead of ordering it with 2gigs. I know the upgrade from apple is $270, but i can get a 1gig stick of ram for about $115 from a third party.

The only question is.. how difficult is it to add a stick of ram to one of these babies??

If its going to be some big ordeal where i have to completely take the thing apart, i'd rather just order it, because i wouldnt want to mess something up on my new $2500+ machine. Know what i mean? ;)

Any quick last minute tips would be greatly appreciated, because i am one click away from placing my order!!! :D

tacvbo83
2006-02-24, 20:54
everyon else here will tell you to do what you just described, I on the other hand went for the 2 Gigs already installed because I am new with Macs....just my case

you will save about $100 I guess....but i rather pay to not go through the trouble this first time

by the way..when you order it, can you post your shipping date...just curious

Brave Ulysses
2006-02-24, 22:12
everyon else here will tell you to do what you just described, I on the other hand went for the 2 Gigs already installed because I am new with Macs....just my case

you will save about $100 I guess....but i rather pay to not go through the trouble this first time

by the way..when you order it, can you post your shipping date...just curious

again, the trouble is unscrewing two screws ( I believe 2) and putting a stick of ram in a slot. Hardly worth $100 extra to have Apple do it. But that's me.::\

davidfalling
2006-02-25, 01:17
OKAY, well after looking at some pictures of the MBP taken apart, i realized that it is really easy:

1.) you remove the battery, and then
2.) unscrew 2 or 3 screws.