PDA

View Full Version : Merom worth the wait?

rollercoaster375
2006-03-12, 20:33
Disclaimer: this post will be speculative, so... Yea.

I'm a high school student (Sophomore), and I've been saving for a Laptop for two years now (I was converted to Mac-dom a few months after I started saving). I've finally gotten enough money to be able to afford a laptop, but I have a major decision: to buy now, or later.

My main reasoning for buying later would be Merom... I will need to boot Windows (<3 Age of Empires 3), and I also will need for this computer to last a reasonably long time. With the recent news that Vista won't boot via EFI on its first release, and never on 32 bit systems, I've been leaning toward waiting until October to buy (Isn't the iBook typically updated around then?), rather than buying one of the suspected April-ish MacBooks... Presumably, the October-ish update would use Merom, no?

Anyways, this is my dilemma, and I thank you for any input you may give.

MCQ
2006-03-12, 22:54
Presumably, the October-ish update would use Merom, no?

I'd lean towards no at this point, but the first iBook revision should show what position Apple wants to take with the iBook.

My suggestion would be to have a separate budget PC for any type of gaming... but that's just my opinion.

Luca
2006-03-13, 00:00
How are we supposed to help you? You want purchasing advice related to a feature that will never be officially supported (Windows booting on a Mac). You can't count on that happening at all. What you need to do is decide whether you'd rather have Age of Empires 3 or a Mac. Pick one or the other. There's a chance you'll be able to boot Windows on an Intel-based Mac, but there's also a chance you won't be able to.