PDA

View Full Version : help with matlab

cyrusmekon
2006-04-12, 02:33
Ok so i have this assignment which is doing my head in.

I am trying to do the following

x=(-4*pi:2*pi)
y=((x^2)-1)*cot(x)
plot(x,y)

but i get this error

Error in ==> Untitled4 at 2
y=((x^2)-1)*cot(x)

Can anyone help, all my lecturers have gone home and google doesnt seem to help!!

Thank you im a noob.

bassplayinMacFiend
2006-04-12, 07:10
Maybe cot (cotangent?) is identified by arctan or tan-1? I know nothing of Matlab, but you may need to change the cotangent part of your function.

Try using (1/tan(x)) or (cos(x)/sin(x)), maybe that'll work?
This page shows the math. (http://www.mathwords.com/c/cotangent.htm)

[edit]
I found this matlab cotangent page. (http://www.mathworks.com/access/helpdesk/help/techdoc/ref/cot.html)

[edit 2]
You may have a syntax error in your definition of x in the first line. I know nothing of matlab though, just going on the example they give on the matlab page in my first edit.

ShadowOfGed
2006-04-12, 10:47
x=(-4*pi:2*pi)
y=((x^2)-1)*cot(x)
plot(x,y)Alright, here are my comments.

When creating arrays like x, you do not need the surrounding parenthesis. Those are what are causing your errors, I suspect. Lists, arrays, and matricies are delimited using square brackets, [ ], in MATLAB.

Also, when specifying ranges, particularly non-integer regions, you probably want to include the optional middle parameter that lets you specify the interval between consecutive elements. The default interval is 1, which is going to yield a very coarse graph. What you probably want is something closer to 0.1 or 0.01 as your interval, to get a better graph.