PDA

View Full Version : Which is the best frame work to wirte device Drivers for mac(carbon or cocoa)

varmag
2006-04-25, 06:12
Hi All,
I am new to Mac.
I am going to write Drivers for the an instrument.
After writing the driver I want to call the driver API through JNI (java antive interface).
So please suggest me which frame work I can choose Carbon or Cocoa so that I can easyly invoke the the drivers from JNI.

Thanking You all
varmag

scratt
2006-04-25, 06:17
Wecome to AN..

Can you give me some tips on writing drivers please?

By the way...
A good source is here...

http://www.idevgames.com

..if you are new to Mac, but know something about programming generally.

And maybe here.. http://www.gamedev.net

chucker
2006-04-25, 06:18
Why would you use something so high-level to write a device driver? Don't get me wrong, I'm sure it's possible (I'd recommend Carbon in that case), but I just wouldn't do it at all. I'd write it in C, as purely as humanly possible. Avoids many problems.

Barto
2006-04-25, 06:46
chucker: Carbon and Cocoa can't be used for writing (regular) device drivers - they are GUI frameworks after all. I/O Kit is the framework/service/hack for device drivers on Mac OS X. From what I can tell, varmag is asking whether to access the device using Carbon or Cocoa (through the JNI).

Um, I don't know enough about this area of programming to know. But good luck varmag. ;)

ghoti
2006-04-25, 06:55
JNI doesnt' have anything to do with the framework. There are two sides here, the JNI side, where the functions are called from Java, and the hardware side, where the functions access the hardware. You will need some low-level framework like I/O Kit for the latter, and the former is simply JNI, just like on any other OS.

chucker
2006-04-25, 07:15
chucker: Carbon and Cocoa can't be used for writing (regular) device drivers - they are GUI frameworks after all.