PDA

View Full Version : iMac 17", iMac 20", or Macbook

ddrueckhammer
2006-04-28, 12:41
I just sold my 12" 1.33Ghz 1.25 GB 80GB Powerbook for $1100 plus shipping on Ebay and am Macless now! I would appreciate any advice on what I should purchase to replace it. I have really been thinking about an iMac because the screen on the Powerbook always seemed a little small for my tastes and I really didn't take the Powerbook with me very often. The options I am considering are:

20" iMac- If I get one of these it would have to be off of Ebay. My current budget is only $1200 or so as I am a student and money is tight right now.

17" iMac- I can get one of the refurbs for $1099 or one from the education store for $1199. I'm not sure if they give the original packaging for refurbs or if they just come in a brown box. If they don't include the extra packaging I'm thinking the edu is better because it will help the resale value to have the original box.

On either of these iMacs I'm wondering if it would be best to wait until next month and see if they release the Meriom processor in them. I would think Dual Core processing would help overall performance but I don't want to wait until August to get it really. Also, I am wondering if the Cram & Jam promo will extend to the iMacs, as well as, Macbooks this year. If it does then that would be nice as my 4G iPod recently died.

Macbook- I think I really don't want a Macbook as I just sold a Powerbook that works great but it might be worth it if I can get a free iPod with it...

I think I sold at the perfect time because the 12" Powerbooks will surely take a hit when the new 12" portables come out but I hate to not have a computer...