PDA

View Full Version : Buying an iBook

katiedidit
2006-05-12, 13:38
I was hoping to get some advice about buying an iBook. I was going to go ahead and get one of the G4 models that are out now but someone told me Apple was going to be releasing a new model. I was wondering if anyone could tell me more about the new model, including guesses about pricing...I'm a college student and the G4 iBook is perfectly in my price range. If the newer model is going to be a whole lot more, it may not be an option for me. If you could give me any guesses about price and any info about specs, that would be awesome. Thanks!

PB PM
2006-05-12, 13:40
Since it isn't out its hard to say, but a good guess would be that the specs are like those of the Mac mini. Price, could stay the same, or might go up a little, only time will tell.

Wyatt
2006-05-12, 13:42
Even if the price does go up, places like Amazon.com and other online resellers will likely still have iBooks in stock for a little while. They shouldn't be hard to find if you don't want to pay the extra money.

katiedidit
2006-05-12, 13:44
Is there a release date on the new models?

Wyatt
2006-05-12, 13:46
Is there a release date on the new models?
Hehe, you don't follow Apple closely, do you? :D

Apple doesn't pre-announce products. What we know about them is pretty limited and may be incorrect. However, the iBook has gone longer without an update than any of Apple's computers (about 9 months, if I remember correctly), and the last update was pretty weak anyway. More than likely the new model will be released later this month (possibly next week), but it could be as late as July (very unlikely).

katiedidit
2006-05-12, 13:51
Haha, no, I'm afraid I don't follow the inner workings very closely. I've always used PCs and recently borrowed a friend's iBook for an extended period of time and loved it. My current laptop is on it's last legs, so I'm pretty excited for an iBook. :)

Wyatt
2006-05-12, 13:55