PDA

View Full Version : Buying first Mac, need some advice

dark54555
2006-06-01, 10:13
First of all, I'll admit it. Years ago, I was on the "make fun of macs" bandwagon with everyone else. But OSX has changed that, and Boot Camp has made it possible (programs like ProDoc require Windows, so I do need it now and again).

Anyway, multi-part question...and I'm kinda new to the whole Mac-verse, so I do appologize if these are completely stupid.

1. I've got one semester left as a student, this fall. I already know I can still get the student discount, but I've heard mumblings about "back to school" sales. Is that a normal yearly thing for Apple? If so, when is it and what are the "typical" deals? I'm in no real hurry, so if there's a potentially big discount or cool free thing, I can wait till August.

2. MacBook vs. MacBook Pro...If I don't need the separate graphics (I game on my desktop, and have don't anticipate using finalcut), is there any other reason not to just get the macbook?

3. I keep hearing about all these heat issues. Would it be smart to wait at least another couple weeks, if not till August, to hope these things get worked out?

4. Is there any reason I should wait and see what happens at the conference in August before buying, i.e. potential for surprise announcements?

My Thinkpad has served me well, but it's starting to show some serious wear after 2 years (I'm a heavy laptop user...like 10 hours a day, 7 days a week). So as long as it keeps working, I don't need to replace it. If, however, it dies...well, the waiting becomes more out of the question.

Thanks in advance!

robert1014
2006-06-01, 10:32
If you can afford to wait until August, do so. One never knows what announcements will be made by then, and if nothing dramatically new comes along, you're no worse off and you can go ahead and buy the same Mac you'd have bought now.