PDA

View Full Version : New film student

it5five
2006-06-01, 10:43
Hi everyone. I'm pretty excited about getting my first mac. I used to use them at school and LOVE them. I even sold my girfriend on getting an imac after her computer broke.

But, as a freshman film student, I'm not sure exactly what is necessary. Right now I have it down to two options:

1) Wait until the Mac Pro's come around. Save every cent I earn this summer to buy one when they are released.

2) Buy an iMac now (If I did this, it'd be the 20" with 2GB RAM), and then about 2 years later buy a Mac Pro (when I have more money).

Is anyone here a past or present film student? Would the Mac Pro be overkill as a new student, or is it better just to buy the Mac Pro first, then just upgrade RAM and HD space when necessary? I'm trying to get as many opinions possible on this. Thanks.

Banana
2006-06-01, 11:06
Well, while hardware are important, you also need to include in cost of software, if any.

If your school doesn't give you software, at least I'm sure you will get an hefty educational discount; if you spend all of your money on a Mac Pro, it'll be useless because you don't have the necessary software. In that scenario, you'd be better off on a iMac with some money left over for whatever software you will need to run on it.

it5five
2006-06-01, 11:12
Yeah, the student discount is pretty nice. Final Cut studio is only $800 after the discount. So, if I can afford the software + Mac Pro, I should just go ahead and do that?

Brad
2006-06-01, 11:13
Yup. Banana just took the response right from my fingertips. :)

Don't forget to account for software in your budget.

Banana
2006-06-01, 11:17
I can't say whether software+ Mac Pro would be ideal; we have no idea what specs Mac Pro will actually have, whether it's in the range or not or whether it's overkill or right for your needs.