PDA

View Full Version : my first MATLAB assignment: statistics!

ime_NY
2006-06-19, 17:46
Hi all,

So I just got MATLAB to work on my iBook, and I've spent the day dealing with matrices and arrays. I think I’ve done a good job so far in getting over my inherent fear of programming. Now my boss has given me a nice assignment, which , of course, will go over my head seeing that this is my first attempt in trying to understand a programming ap. Any help and insight will be greatly appreciated.

Our experiment is based on visual displays of faces, and my assignment is to compile some statistics based on our raters' subjective opinion of these faces, which were scored from 1 (really, really don't like) to 10 (really, really like). There's 500 total facial pictures. The ratings are in a "ratings" directory, and the pictures are in a "pictures" directory. Here's the three easiest questions of the assignment:

a.) Write a program that figures out and displays the 30 highest, the
30 lowest, and the 30 average/middle images.

b.) Write a program that displays the one picture that a rater rated more highly than the average of the raters; conversely, create a program that displays the one picture that a rater rated much lower when compared to the mean rating.

c.) create a program that does all of the above BUT instead uses z-scores to
do all calculations.

just to show you the breadth of understanding after my first day, the most fancy computation I've done for an individual rater is displaying the ID numbers for each of the 10 rating intervals; i.e., I showed that one rater had rated six pictures as "10" with:

>> find (scores==10)

which then gave me a vector of six ID #s in order from 1-500.

Even though these are the three easiest questions of the assignment, my head hurts thinking about this, so i'm going back to tackle it at the Command Window.

Any insights or help will greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Anonymous Coward
2006-06-19, 18:12