PDA

View Full Version : CSS/Php whoes. (Centering issues)

Jerman
2006-08-14, 23:50
I have been working on a redesign to my website, jeremiahrich.com

I am using the domain: http://www.thestuffthings.com to test stuff out before I put it up as the main site. I am having a slight centering issue though... For some reason, the page is shifting slightly to the left. It is very hard to tell, but note the position of your mouse for point of reference, and you will see it shift by clicking on the "About" link. Any clue on what could be causing this?

I am including two php files on the main site:

recent-shows.php
and
recent-news.php

Removing recent-news.php seems to fix the formatting issues. I also notice that on my news page it is doing the same thing. (That is powered by news.php, you get the picture). But the shows php's aren't causing any issues. I am very new at coding in MySql, so I am sure there may be some oddities in my coding.

If I remove the following line, then the centering is not messed up:
Echo substr($bResult["Text"],0,200);

Of course that is necessary to show the news...

Jerman
2006-08-15, 00:41
All right, it was not recent-news.php that was causing the problem. It is this code:

<div style=" float: right; width: 440px; text-align: left; border-left: 2px dashed #666633; padding-left: 10px; font-size: 12px;">

<div style=" float: left; width: 220px; text-align: left; margin-left: 2px; margin-right: 2px; color: #9C8F67; font-size: 10px;">

I am using that instead of tables in an attempt to do everything without using tables. Somehow when the width of the right side exceeds the left, it moves the page over to the right by about 6 pixels...

Jerman
2006-08-15, 00:48