PDA

View Full Version : Finally Made a Purchase Decision - 24" iMac :D

MBHockey
2006-09-23, 13:43
I've been doing some very casual research for the past 4-5 months on which Mac should be my next computer.

I was all set on a Merom MBP for a while. When they kept getting delayed, I started to wonder, do i really need a laptop? Over the course of a month, i counted the times i took my 3+ year old PowerBook to campus with me (i live off campus). I hadn't once. I realized it'd be silly for me to pay for the portability again, when i could get a souped up iMac (with a 2 foot screen!) for around the same money.

I finally got the balls to do it today. I ordered a 24" iMac from Apple.com I got the education discount since i'm a college student, and it turned out to be pretty affordable for what i got.

Here are the specs:

Product Name: iMac, 24-inch, Intel Core 2 Duo
Options:
065-6792 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
065-6474 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
065-6801 NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT 256MB SDRAM
065-6447 500GB Serial ATA Drive
065-6439 SuperDrive 8X (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
065-6433 Apple Keyboard & Mighty Mouse + Mac OS X (US English)
065-6432 Accessory kit

The extra ram wasn't too bad from Apple, and so i opted to get the 2 gigs from them. This was mainly because i had initially bought the base amount of ram with my current TiBook and then upgraded it later, but i had a problem where i had to return the ram i received to crucial three times before i got working modules (quite a hassle, but it has worked flawlessly since the third one). As for the HD, i knew i wanted a lot of space (i currently have a 60 GB HD and have nowhere near the room i need for my CAD projects and DVD collection i am most likely going to rip to my new computer) and i thought about upgrading it later too...but I don't know how comfortable I'd be taking the imac apart to get to the HD bay.

I don't know what the "accessory kit" is.