PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro Advice

chris e boy
2006-09-29, 09:59
HI guys,

Im looking to purchase a Mac Pro in the next month or so for my works machine at home. It will be replacing a windows pc (2.6 pentium 4).

The spec im looking at is:
2x 2ghz Xeon
1gb Ram
GeForce 7300 GT 256mb
1x 160gb hard drive ( i have another sata hard drive at home)
wireless + bluetooth

I have a 20" display at home already so wont be needing a display.
I also need to plug in my firewire audiophile and my eyeTV dtt

Programs i will be running include:
Dreamweaver
Fireworks
Aptana
skEdit
Millions of different browser versions (im a web designer by trade)
Ableton Live
Reason
Traktor DJ Studio
iMovie & iDVD (for some simple slideshow and video work)
Parallels (to run a windows server 2003 web server and for browser testing on win2k and xp)

im aware that the macromedia/adobe products dont yet have UB versions.

my questions:
1) anyone know the UB status of the other software programs i intend to use? If not, how well do the non UB versions run through rosetta?

2) will the lower processor and ram handle this sort of workload? would it be worth the huge amount of cash for an extra gb of ram?

3) If i need to, will vista run ok under bootcamp for games for my family? (i have vista currently installed and it runs ok)

4) How well does Parallels run on the Mac Pro? I have it installed on my iMac at work and it runs xp a little sluggish when other apps are open.

chucker
2006-09-29, 10:05
It sounds to me like you'd be much cheaper and better off selling your display getting a 20-inch iMac. Heck, for the money of your Mac Pro configuration, you could get a 24-inch iMac, even.

my questions:
1) anyone know the UB status of the other software programs i intend to use? If not, how well do the non UB versions run through rosetta?

Since you presumably still have Windows licenses for several such programs anyway, could always run those via Parallels, which would be faster than Rosetta.