PDA

View Full Version : Backup Solutions

billybobsky
2006-10-06, 21:30
One year ago both of my computers kicked the bucket within a two week period. First my PowerBook jumped to its death off of my lab bench and then my PC ate two hard drives. Because I didn't really back things up I lost a lot of what I had excluding the important documents I had emailed to myself. Its a year later, and I am nervous. I am actually building up a largish number of documents again and still have yet to begin regular backups -- I just don't see myself burning dvds of all of my stuff every month especially since I have had some bad experience with the cds i burned of my data before I graduated college -- what did ultimately work post-college was an external hard drive that I had copied my life onto.

So... How do you keep your files safe; I am looking for a solution that requires the least amount of file duplication as possible (I don't think I need to backup my music, for instance, every month)?

Joshua
2006-10-06, 21:33
I'm somewhat in the same boat.

To be honest I'm just crossing my finders until Time Machine comes out.

billybobsky
2006-10-06, 22:21
Anyone have any experience with retrospect?

NosferaDrew
2006-10-06, 22:23
I have a second, identical HD in my G5 that I use to back up my internal every night using SuperDuper! (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13803) - just set it and forget it.
I also use SuperDuper! to back up my MacBook Pro to an old iPod every weekend or so.

It's well worth the $28.

NosferaDrew
2006-10-06, 22:27
Anyone have any experience with retrospect?

We have 22TB of storage where I work and we use Retrospect for backup and restoring to AIT2.
It's a little clunky searching for files to restore, but it works well enough. Never had any failures or issues.

FFL
2006-10-06, 23:42
Retrospect is pretty good for big server backup but sucks ass for individual use.

SuperDuper FTW.

billybobsky
2006-10-06, 23:55