PDA

View Full Version : Cinema 23"

jtcedinburgh
2006-10-10, 02:13
Hi folks.

I am thinking about gettin an Apple CInema 23" to replace two 20" panels (one of which I will use for work and the other of which I will sell to a friend) - I have been doing the dual desktop thing for 18 months now and whilst I like the extra space, I'm not so sure that the 'split' down the middle works for me personally.

Has anyone compared a current ACD23 to an older one (i.e. an early release alu ACD) to see if there are any changes to the panel? I have used an older alu ACD but not seen a more recent one and I wondered if the panel had been revised as it had for the 30" model.

Also, much as I love Apple products and all, I can't ignore the possibility of the Dell 24" panel, which is tempting because of (a) better warranty as standard, and (b) multiple inputs. Its design may not be quite as nice as the Apple LCD but it is better than most. My dual 20" screens are Dell 2001FPs and I am delighted with them in fairness, so qualitatively I reckon I'd probably be happy with the 24" but though my head says Dell, my heart says Apple on this one...

Any thoughts, recommendations, pointers to comparisons?

Ta,

john

Luca
2006-10-10, 02:58
Dell. Just do it. I know it's not as stylish but you're already happy with Dell displays, so why not continue going with the brand you know? They're cheaper AND better. There's no real advantage to going with Apple on this one.

scratt
2006-10-10, 03:32
I agree with Luca.

If I may throw another make into the mix I would suggest looking at some of the Benq ones.. I got the 1680 x 1050 22" black one recently to go with my new MBP. It's one of the fastest refreshing monitors on the market in the price range, and is aimed at game players / graphics / multimedia people who want fast refresh.. They are not too pricey either.. Not in Thailand anyway.. but apparently in the UK they are very expensive. But then what isn't!