PDA

View Full Version : Learning Cocoa (ran into a problem)

ast3r3x
2006-10-24, 08:20
Ok, so I finally decided I was going to sit down and try to learn cocoa. What better time than while learning java so I can try and see how confused I can get with different syntax's. Luckily since they are pretty different it hasn't been to hard though.

Well I guess my real problem is that my App doesn't work properly. Although I don't know why, and since I am just learning and mostly copying from the book (but I do understand most of it) I am at a loss without xcode throwing up errors at me.

I'm using the first edition of Cocoa Programming For Mac OS X by Arron Hillegrass. Yes it's 4 years old, I bought it when it was rather new and just never got around to learning :p.

The material doesn't seem to be online anymore so I figured I'd ask you guys. RaiseMan.zip (http://www.swigg.net/files/RaiseMan.zip) is my xcode folder.

Ok, so no errors, no warnings, everything seems fine, except when I put data into my NSTableView it doesn't stay. Making new rows and deleting them works, but data just doesn't stay in them. Is there something I missed or am over looking?

Edit: I'm sure it's something stupid, and something I just missed, but it's driving me crazy. Thanks for looking chucker!

chucker
2006-10-24, 08:23
*looks*

chucker
2006-10-24, 08:26
Okay, three observations:
1) you're bundling a build folder, including an AppName.build one, which is 24.9 MBs worth of caches and such. Don't do that. :)
2) relatedly, when sending an app to others, you need to turn off ZeroLink, or it won't run for anyone but you. They easiest way is to switch to Deployment mode.
3) your version of Xcode is outdated.

chucker
2006-10-24, 08:34
Through some debugging, it turns out that:
1) the Person objects do get created and added to the employees array.
2) the Person objects do store their changed personName values.
3) they don't, however, store their expectedRaise values; those are always nil.

chucker