PDA

View Full Version : Am I too much of a novice for Photoshop?

machick
2006-11-06, 12:41
Hi,

I am a college student who has really gotten into photography in the last year or so. At this point, I have outgrown iPhoto and am in need of another program. I have a lot of photos at this point and would like to be able to organize them and edit them on a higher level than what I can do in iPhoto.

I am not looking into professional photography at this point, but I will be doing some photography for my school's website and school magazine starting next semester. These two jobs would require me to be doing editing at a high level, but not at a professional level. I would like to be able to produce high quality photos for these purposes and for my own purposes.

How steep is the learning curve in Photoshop for someone who has never used it before? Does it sound like Photoshop would be a good program for me? If not, can anyone recommend anything that is on a level between Photoshop and iPhoto?

I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks,
machick

Fahrenheit
2006-11-06, 12:47
The joy of photoshop for me is that you can use it at the same simplicity of say MS Paint or iPhoto, but as you progress, you can find thousands of new features. For example, I don't use it very seriously, and just enjoy things like liquify and the clone tools etc, for making my friends look weird.

There are also many, many tutorials aside from the basic features that are very easy to pick up on.

Remember, there are also free alternatives to PS if you don't want to fully invest yet. :)

rollercoaster375
2006-11-06, 13:05
Maybe PS Elements?

Yonzie
2006-11-06, 13:11
From what you write, it sound more like you want Aperture or Adobe Lightroom instead of Photoshop... Anyway, Photoshop doesn't manage photos so...
Aperture is only $150 for students vs. the $300 (I think) for Photoshop, but it obviously lacks some features. The question is how much you need to edit your pictures.