PDA

View Full Version : macbook. Good time to buy?

computerboy
2006-12-05, 20:38
Hey all, thinking of buying a slick new black macbook.

Is this a good time to buy or is it better to wait till after Christmas? Or even longer than this, with blue ray and all...

Also, what (if anything) should i add to the computer (more ram etc)? I'm not a designer but am in Advertising so would like to dabble in photoshop and some video editing programs.

anyway, thanks heaps.

also - I'm in Australia. Any tips of getting a better price?

doublem9876
2006-12-05, 20:49
Now that they have the Core 2 Duo, they seem like a pretty good option. Blu-Ray drives probably won't make it into apple notebooks for a while, seeing as how expensive they are. Since the MacBook comes standard with 1 gb of RAM, you might as well upgrade it to two. I would also go with the 160 gb hard drive. Definitely a good time to purchase.

turtle
2006-12-05, 20:52
MWSF is just around the corner though....

If you need it now, buy now though.

torifile
2006-12-05, 20:58
Funny, I just wrote a long post on my blog about when to buy. I don't want to spam the boards but it seems appropriate (www.stevesremoteclicker.com/2006/12/05/when-do-i-buy-a-mac/).

computerboy
2006-12-05, 21:05
thanks, keep em comming.

Also, anyone know why us Aussies pay such a premium on mac products?

US$1,499 for the black macbook should work out to be around AU$1,902.

However, we pay AU$2,399.

hmmm.

agent302
2006-12-05, 22:25
thanks, keep em comming.

Also, anyone know why us Aussies pay such a premium on mac products?

US$1,499 for the black macbook should work out to be around AU$1,902.

However, we pay AU$2,399.

hmmm.