PDA

View Full Version : Some advice please...

DEADMARSH
2007-02-08, 17:19
First off, I apologize if this isn't in the right forum...

Back a couple of years ago when I was teaching at the local JuCo, I used a G4 dual processor to edit a stupid movie a few friends and I had made. I had never used a Mac before and was quite surprised with how quickly I picked up the basic interface and iMovie.

A couple months later, my old band I cut our first studio album and the engineer we hired did the all of the mastering through his iMac.

I'm not teaching anymore because the allure of big money and fabulous prizes lured me back to manufacturing. That being said, I still like to mess around with music and making movies.

I've got some big overtime checks coming and I'm thinking about picking up a used or refurbed Mac to play around with. I've been using PC based systems for about 10 years now and part of my current job requires me to be a bit of an IT guy, so while I'm fairly handy with PCs and related hardware, I'm basically clueless when it comes to Macs, so I thought I'd stop by and ask for some advice.

Basically I want to be able to easily edit video and record/ mix the music I write. It'd also be nice to be able to use the Mac as a "second box" as far as getting on the net and basic things like that- nothing intensive, that's what the PC will still be around for. I've tried using my PCs to do the music/ video thing in the past and frankly it was a hair-pulling experience that resulted in something less than desirable. Just seemed so easy on that G4...

So what should I buy? As I said, this is more akin to a hobby than a production level effort- just something that will result in decent looking/ sounding results. I don't plan on going pro, but I do want to get something that'd enable me to produce stuff for friends and sympathetic strangers, y'know?