PDA

View Full Version : PC Laptop v. Mac Book Pro

TeamWasabi
2007-02-14, 15:02
Hi everyone. I'm a long time PC user but have become increasingly interested in Macs. I currently have a 12'' Dell laptop that I use for school but I'm to big for such a small computer (6' 7'' and big hands) so I'm thinking about getting a MBP (either 15" or 17") and was hoping people could offer me some insights about the switching over and things like that. I have never used a Mac before so the biggest roadblock is that I would have to learn a new OS. I'm tech savy (or at least i think so) so if it is easy to pick up then I won't be worried but what about program compatibilty and things like that?
So basically just leave me any thoughts/insights/suggestions you think I should consider when making this decision.
Thanks all!

Yontsey
2007-02-14, 15:16
What kinds of things will you need to do or what to do with the Macbook Pro? What are some examples of programs you use a lot on Windows?

TeamWasabi
2007-02-14, 15:18
pdf, office, dvd/cd burning nothing to serious I guess..

Yontsey
2007-02-14, 15:20
You will be able to view PDF's with no problem, there is actually a new version of Office coming out this year (2008 I believe), and Mac's come with great dvd/cd buring software. You can burn cd's right from iTunes with the click of a button and you can create movies with iDVD and iMovie. There is also other programs like Toast and Popcorn that help you make dvd's.

spikeh
2007-02-14, 15:22
pdf, office, dvd/cd burning nothing to serious I guess..

If that's the case you don't need the MacBook pro - the main benefit of the Pro, aside from the larger screen, is the graphics card and a few other little features (backlit keyboard, better speakers, etc).

The MacBook is a wonderful little machine, my buddy Paul has one. It's lightning fast and if you put 2GB of RAM into it it'll fly.