PDA

View Full Version : Screen space decision: Help in choosing a system

Sketch
2007-05-27, 13:41
Hello people,

How's life? Enjoying the summer? Great!

I need some help in deciding a system that is best suited for my line of work. I am a research student in Molecular Biology and Biotechnolgy. I currently own a 15.4" MBP but the screen space is simply not enough. I run about 5 programs simultaneously, namely VectorNTI (through parallels), Safari (surfing), SciFinder Scholar (search scientific papers), Adobe Illustrator (drawing and editing stuff) and Word or Powerpoint. I have to switch between these programs most of the time and it is sometimes really irritating. It would be great to see the windows of each program seperately without overlapping with each other. I was first considering to buy a 24" Monitor and to use it together with my MBP. But that would be even more annoying since I have to move the mouse from one monitor to the other and they are being 2 different resolutions and that I will have to type using the MBP keyboard while using the big monitor. I simply don't want to have an external keyboard attached to my MBP, because there will be toooooo much of wires everywhere and I just want a system that I could use simply.

So I came up with the following systems:

1. Keep the MBP and buy a mac mini with 22"-24" dell Monitor (ACDs are too expensive comparing to dell)

2. Keep the MBP and buy a 24" iMac

3. Sell the MBP and buy 2 mac minis with 2 x 22" dell Monitors

My budget is limited and I can afford to purchase above mentioned combinations. All I want is more screen space. I have no idea which one to go with. If you have other suggestions please let me know. I would highly appreciate it. Thanks!

torifile
2007-05-27, 14:15
I think you'll find that having 2 computers is more annoying than having to deal with different screen resolutions and moving a mouse between two displays.