PDA

View Full Version : Completely new to Apple.

JerseyThursday
2007-06-15, 22:46
Hey guys, I am completely new to Apple and plan on buying the IMAC when Leopard comes out (hopefully October). In the meantime, In order to understand MAC, I've been reading an old Mac OSX Tiger For Dummies that I got for 4 dollars.

Should I buy an old IMAC G3 that I can get for about 50 dollars online to use as practice until I buy my IMAC? If possible can I upgrade the memory, hardrive, etc to make it accept Leopard?

Any advice?

Windowsrookie
2007-06-15, 23:01
No, Do not buy an iMac G3. Leopard will not run on it. Also, it's Mac not "MAC", and iMac not "IMAC".

judeobscure
2007-06-15, 23:02
That's iMac not IMAC.

chucker
2007-06-15, 23:07
An iMac G3 isn't going to get you any worthwhile, enticing experience. You're gonna want something a lot more recent than that.

JerseyThursday
2007-06-15, 23:29
Thanks guys. How bout a G4 iMac?

Windowsrookie
2007-06-15, 23:32
Any G4 iMac will run Leopard. But really, Leopard will run best on a new iMac.

I wouldn't go for an iMac G4 under 1GHZ, and it will need at least 512MB of RAM. Also, the G4 iMacs are getting quite old now and run the possibility of having the bulbs in the LCDs die.

JerseyThursday
2007-06-15, 23:34
hmm, good point, the iMac Duo Core with Leopard should be around the Holidays, I'll have enough time to save for a 1300 dollar one.

Windowsrookie
2007-06-15, 23:35
Yep. :)

Bryson
2007-06-16, 03:36
Shouldn't older machines get snappier with new OS's on? They always have in the past (If you don't use widgets...)

scratt
2007-06-16, 03:39
Yeah.. My Powerbook540c runs the Leopard Beta like it's on fire! :p

Bryson
2007-06-16, 03:40
...with logical exceptions....*grumble*....

scratt
2007-06-16, 05:06
...with logical exceptions....*grumble*....

Hehe. Sorry, couldn't resist!