PDA

View Full Version : College computer software

bmdbaseball
2007-07-10, 18:04
Im going to get my macbook pro this weekened and was wondering if anyone had any advice on software. Im majoring in sports managment and minoring in marketing and business administration. I was going to get office for students, iworks, toast 8, and some kind of anti-virus software. Is there any other software that might be good to have?

Yontsey
2007-07-10, 18:17
First off, dont get any anti-virus software. from what i heard, it does more harm than good.

Second, why get both Office and iWork? I'd only get one and my preference is Office. I would wait though because a lot of schools sell it a lot cheaper at the school bookstore. I got my copy for like $30.

bmdbaseball
2007-07-10, 18:21
Im getting both because I like the more professional looking templates of pages and keynote. Also Keynote dose a much better job than powerpoint.

julesstoop
2007-07-10, 18:29
Yep. Keynote is pretty amazing
What more do you expect to be using it for, besides the usual digital citizen stuff?

bmdbaseball
2007-07-10, 18:33
What ever is need for school and i do some video prodution on the side. But I all ready have final cut express and photoshop.

RowdyScot
2007-07-10, 18:35
The only reason to get an anti-virus is if you plan to dual-boot with OS X and Windows, or if you are worried about forwarding an infected file to someone else that you had yourself received from a Windows user. If neither is the case, I wouldn't worry about it. The college or university may have its own requirements about anti-virus software before you register on their network, and in such a case they will provide one free of charge.

I also use both Office and iWork, and for the same reasons. I heavily prefer Keynote for presentations, but I need Excel for all of my labs. I have no preference between Word or Pages.