PDA

View Full Version : Buy Mac now or after leopard?

shalimar
2007-07-20, 23:50
I am a college student and I am planning to buy a new mbp but there are some problems.

I want leopard, ilife 07/08, and maybe iwork as well.
Apple is currently offering a free ipod which ends Sept 17th 2007.

If I buy now, I might not get the new ilife because that might be released with leopard in Oct. or August with the new imac. But I cant wait too long because then I wont get the ipod deal. Then there is leopard which debut sometime in October so I might be able to get some rebate on the new OS if I wait till Sept.17th.

The downfall of waiting is of course not having the mbp in my hand and basically waiting for nothing while I can use my mbp now.

Does anybody know what kind of rebate Apple might give to customers who buy computers so close to a new OS release and usually what does apple consider "a close enought" purchase to warrant a rebate on their new OS. Meaning, if I buy on Sept 17th, will that be sufficient for Apple to consider sending me a copy of leopard for free/discounted.

Thanks - Shalimar

mlipkin
2007-07-21, 09:16
They won't give you a discount on Leopard no matter how close you buy your mac. But look at it this way:

Free iPod = $200
Free Leopard (if you buy a mac after if comes out) = $70 (that's how much it is with a student discount)

It pays to get your computer now and buy the OS in October.

Majost
2007-07-21, 11:08
They won't give you a discount on Leopard no matter how close you buy your mac…

It's been a while, but if memory serves me correctly, they have previously announced the ship date about three weeks ahead of time, and any computers bought in the intervening period could buy an 'upgrade' for a $20 'shipping' fee.

shalimar
2007-07-21, 14:59