PDA

View Full Version : Cell Phone Company Advice

Capella
2007-09-27, 20:22
After some bad recent events, I've decided that I need to take charge of my own everything and become completely independent from my family. This means I'm not going to rely on them for cellular anymore, but get my own. So now I'm looking at different cellular phone companies, trying to find what the best deal is. I know nothing about the best cell companies, etc; we initially chose Cingular because they and BellSouth offered combined billing and BellSouth had my home phone and my internet.

I'm a college student on a limited budget, which means I want a cheap plan. (A free phone or at least a sub $40 one would be nice.) From what I've seen, the basic plans of most companies start at around $40 a month and just go up from there. I'd really like to stick to sub-$50 a month if at all possible; I have other things to pay for as well. I do not text message (I have sent a grand total of 2 in my life, both this month, and now feel thoroughly unclean.), so I don't need a plan with text messaging. I generally make a bunch of short calls (i.e. to my boyfriend to tell him where to meet me or to ask my roommate if she's eaten), but I do call my parents for about an hour once or twice a week. I never go online or do anything else with my phone- it's just for talking. And I can't afford anything new and shiny anyways.