PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of purchasing a VPN service -- thoughts?

MBHockey
2008-01-22, 21:18
I do quite a bit of wifi surfing both on my MacBook Pro and iPhone on public hotspots. I always run WPA2 encryption on my home router, but I'm not there much with my devices. I've been looking into purchasing a VPN service, but wanted some opinions before I committed to actually doing it.

Are they worth it? Are there ones I should stay away from (I am looking the most heavily at www.strongvpn.com). Am I overly paranoid?

I'm a total VPN newb, but I know that I could use it both with my iPhone and MBP so that it'd be secure even on an open network -- which makes me feel all fuzzy inside.

What do you think? Anyone actually use these things?

Brad
2008-01-22, 21:33
I've never deployed my own VPN, but a quick Google search found a free, open source solution called OpenVPN (http://openvpn.net/) that's available for Mac OS X. You might want to consider that too.

apple007
2008-01-22, 22:42
I believe I started a thread about this about a year or two ago. While I had (have?) concerns about using public WiFi, etc., I still haven't used a VPN service. Maybe I'm just being happily naive, but as long as my email and other passwords are encrypted, I feel relatively secure.

(That said, I'll be taking a look at the OpenVPN solution mentioned by 'Brad'.)

turtle
2008-01-22, 23:02
I use a VPN because my home server has PPTP VPN built into it. I love it for the fact that all my traffic can pass through it encrypted rather than open like at most hotels and coffee shops.

Other than having you implement a server at your house I don't know of another way for your to do this.

MBHockey
2008-01-25, 10:32
I was looking at the advanced settings for VPN connections in system preferences (Leopard) and there is an option in there for sending all traffic over the VPN connection. I'm curious about this option.