PDA

View Full Version : What does a 12" PowerBook worth nowadays?

del-uks
2008-01-24, 17:17
Hi there,

I've been waiting for a 12" MacBook or MacBook Pro since Apple decided to switch from the IBM "G series" to Intel... but it doesn't sound like it's coming any soon.

I've always liked the 12" PowerBook format because it's just what I want from a portable computer: it's ergonomic and small!

My main machine is a G5 Quad. I use it mostely in the studio with a Pro Tools system (I'm a sound engineer). I need a laptop mainly for basic use on the road: Mail, Safari, Word, Excel and tracking some music (I'm thinking about Logic Pro 8).

I know somebody how's selling his PB 12" 1.5 GHz, 1.25 ram, 100 Go HD...

• How much should I pay for it?

• Will it be powerfull enough for a basic use of Logic Pro 8 (two track recording sessions, mixing, etc.)?

• Is it a machine from the past and should I get an Intel MacBook insteed?

Thank you very much for your attention,

Del-Uks

Yontsey
2008-01-24, 17:33
Well, for the excel, internet, mail stuff, the 12'' PB will work great for you.

As far as doing some mobile tracking with Logic Pro 8, I think it'll work but I cant imagine it'll be any fun with several tracks going in a decent sized project.

Why not look into a refurbished Macbook and max out the Ram. I have a Core Duo 2.0 with 2 gigs of Ram and I rarely run into problems recording with Logic Pro and Garageband. I just did a project with like 10 tracks and had no problems what so ever and I'm sure I could push it more if I needed too.

Luca
2008-01-24, 17:46
I'd also suggest a MacBook over an older PowerBook. I simply can't recommend any PPC system to anyone, at least not as a new purchase (though I've heard that G5s do pretty well even in Leopard). In fact, I sold my own 12" PowerBook G4 just recently for that very reason - it was so slow, even for everyday operation, that I just couldn't stand it anymore and had to ditch it.