PDA

View Full Version : Learning ObjC, Cocoa, and iPhone SDK

Kraetos
2008-06-17, 10:53
I need to jump into Cocoa and iPhone development quickly for a job. I picked up Hillegass's (http://www.bignerdranch.com/index.shtml) Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0321503619/bignerdranch-20) after hearing on good authority that it's more or less the definitive learning Cocoa book.

I just got through the first three chapters and I am afraid my head is spinning. I don't think I've learned much.

My programming background consists of:

- About a year of formal training in Java, which I picked up pretty quickly
- Self-taught HTML, CSS and PHP - but I'm actually pretty good with PHP
- Familiarity with Perl and JavaScript. I can read them, debug them, adapt code for my own purposes, or write small functions for other peoples code, but I've never written anything substantial in Perl or JavaScript.

I don't know C, or C++, and I think that's what is more or less getting in my way. Things like memory management are totally foreign to me. Should I just keep truckin' through this Cocoa book or should I be learning something else first - something a little more basic in C, perhaps?

To make things more challenging, I don't have much time. I need to be part of a Cocoa dev team... soon. :eek: I'm pretty good at teaching things to myself, so this is frustrating. I just feel like I've maybe skipped a step.

chucker
2008-06-17, 11:08
Thus quoth myself: (http://www.reddit.com/info/6n0gk/comments/c04brwa)
I bought Hillegass's Cocoa programming book, and it's good, but for years and years I kept retrying to figure the language out, and kept failing.
Then I had an actual idea for a very simple problem I wanted to solve, and suddenly, it just clicked with me. Within days, I had a working implementation; a few weeks later, I had several times as many features as I had planned.