PDA

View Full Version : PHP4 vs PHP5

jdcfsu
2008-10-19, 20:59
My server is currently running PHP4 though I have an option to upgrade it to PHP5. I know nothing about PHP other then how to call WordPress variables using it. If I upgrade to PHP5 will that affect anything on my site? Is there any added benefits to moving to PHP5? Thanks guys.

Brad
2008-10-19, 21:03
Unless you're a programmer and you're writing your own code or you have software that specifically requires PHP5, you probably shouldn't make the upgrade. PHP5 has some vast differences over PHP4, most notably in its object model, but that's nothing that will help old software written for PHP4. In fact, upgrading may cause problems in older software due to the changes in how certain functions behave.

Jerman
2008-10-19, 21:15
What version of WordPress are you running? If it is the latest I would *think* you would be okay. I am just a casual developer, so someone else will probably have to give you a better answer.

What is your site comprised of? IF it is just WordPress, I really think you would be fine. I switched to PHP5 quite awhile back, and it worked fine, even though most of my site is hand-coded. (But admittedly basic. Once I upgraded I began many of the features of PHP 5)

***Edit***

Brad mentions the issue of older software. If you do take the plunge, you want to make sure you have upgraded to the last version of WordPress first.

scratt
2008-10-19, 21:46
It's not clear from your post if you are actually running this server online or not... PHP4, and even PHP5 (up to quite recent versions) is chock full of security holes...

From that POV, IMO it's always a good idea to keep PHP as up to date as possible.

And as Jerman says, upgrade WordPress etc. to suit.

WordPress also when not kept up to date is massively insecure.

jdcfsu
2008-10-19, 21:56