PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about picking up an eReader..

kieran
2010-01-11, 14:36
...and no, I won't buy one until after the 27th. :)

I've been meaning to get back into a reading groove since I graduated but haven't gotten serious about it. I was looking at books to read next and there are a lot out there that I want to read.

I was immediately interested in the Kindle when it came out, but didn't want to spend a whole lot of money on something like that at the time.

Now that I'm in a stable full-time (grown up) job, and didn't really splurge on myself for Christmas, I'm thinking about picking one up.

The Kindle looks nice, and it's obviously backed by Amazon, so there is plenty of selection. However, the nook from Barnes & Noble looks really nice as well.

Does anyone here have any experience with either of these? I've pretty much narrowed it down to these two, but want to hear first hand reviews from people I trust, so I came here.

Robo
2010-01-11, 14:47
I like the design of the Nook more but it can get sloooow. They released a software update to speed things up but it is still slower than the Kindle.

I'd go with the Kindle. Thinner, more popular and hey -- unlimited free web browsing.

Capella
2010-01-11, 17:51