PDA

View Full Version : Which mac pro?

tiddles
2010-03-03, 11:29
I am a web/graphic designer and developer working from home. I am glued to my computer 10 hours per day 6 days per week. Currently a PC!!!! :(

I always have my email client open, a few web browsers (safari, firefox, Netscape, Opera, chrome etc...), my code editor, photoshop and maybe a couple of other programs. My photoshop files can be hundreds of layers.

I intend to buy a mac pro and the mac adobe master collection cs4 (or cs5 if it is out in time), coda and a couple of 30" cinema displays. Originally I was looking at the 8-core but I will probably hang on for the 6 or 12 core.

I don't fancy spending much more than £9000.00 (mac £5500 + £1000 adobe suite + coda £99 + 2 displays £2400) but I was wondering, for my needs, are more cores imporant? or the fastest processor? i.e. would I be better getting a 4-core with it's fastes processor or the 8-core with it's slowest processor? RAM - will any of my programs utilise more than 8GB RAM? If photoshop can only use 8GB will more RAM help with the fact I have other programs running?

Lot's of questions but I think you get my predicament. I am opting for the mac pro for the fact it doesn't have a screen built in to it, I can add hardware easily and it seems like a workhorse! I also want a few graphics cards as I intend to run the 2 30" displays and a couple of dvi's I currently have. I hope this purchase will last a long time too - I don't fancy needing an upgrade next year.

Any advice is appreciated.

chucker
2010-03-03, 11:36
I can see the argument of having a free choice of displays and all, but even so, the Mac Pro is way, way overspecced for your needs. I don't see at all what you want to do with "the 6 or 12 core". I'd say invest the most into the RAM, not the processor. And if you really want to treat yourself, add an SSD.

tiddles
2010-03-03, 11:41