PDA

View Full Version : Componentizing HTML

Partial
2010-08-20, 18:44
I'm a flex developer so I'm very familar with a component based programming model. In a typical situation, I would write a view class (let's just say adding an empty container to the view), and then I would add this to an event, dispatch it, and let the event handler at it to the view class.

HTML seems a little bit different when using rich internet apps. I don't want to refresh the pages, so I would, in theory, be loading generating html or retrieving it from a server and adding it to the view using innerHTML.

Is this a correct assumption?

Let's look at a very basic example.

Say I have a two container layout. See below.

edit: Sorry about the formatting. Assuming it's two boxes.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
A A A
A A A
A 1 A 2 A
A A A
A A A
A A A
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Say in container 1 I have a button, that when a user click, it dispatches a click event that I can grab, and then request data from an application server. The information that I would be requesting would be the content of container 2. Simple enough, right?

How does one store the HTML for container 2 that I'd be requesting? Do I have a series of HTML files stored on the server that are opened, read, and returned in the response? Do I use inline HTML on the server? What is the stand convention for doing this?

What would be a good framework to look into for this sort of thing? I've been looking at Google Web Toolkit for this application because we already have our app server code in java and we need a small, but rich, HTML portal kind of thing.

Thanks,
Dan

Partial
2010-08-20, 19:06
Another example would be this.

I have the same container layout.

Side 1 still has the button that updates side 2. In Flex, on the button click event I would handle it, and instantiate a new instance of a class by

var newView : ViewClassFun = new ViewClassFun();
container2.addChild(newView);