PDA

View Full Version : Aperture vs. Lightroom

evan
2010-11-28, 23:03
I've been searching the forums and read a lot of initial impressions of version 3 of both programs, but how does everyone like the programs after using them for several months?

Over the past semester I've taken a semi-photography class and have really started to get more serious about my "taking pictures," and want something a bit more robust than iPhoto for my post-processing needs. I'm completely new to both of these problems so I really don't know what I need to know to look for in them (if that makes sense :)), but here are some things that I would imagine would be important.

-robustness/speed of the program itself. Will it crash? Does it hang up often? I'm not too worried about it right now because my main machine for images is my Core i7 iMac, but I may move some lighter work while away from my desk to a macbook air (if I can ever sell my mbp...) that could fall into installing aperture/lightroom on that machine. For example I won't have access to my iMac for all of christmas break but will be taking LOTS of pictures (family vacation and road trip to vegas are both on the agenda), so the efficiency and reliability of the program will come into play more in a mobile scenario. Plus I take a lot of bad pictures (;)) so being able to quickly delete all the bad ones is a plus.

EDIT:: considering I'll likely be using it on my laptop over the holidays then my iMac in january, how easy is it to swap between computers? I imagine just a one time move would be easy with either program, but would one of them support working on the same library on two different computers relatively easily?

-compatibility with photoshop. How easy is it to take a picture from one of these programs, do some heavy lifting in photoshop, then get it back into the program. Is it easy to keep the original RAW photo and the edited version without over-cluttering the library?