PDA

View Full Version : iPad App Development - newbie

NeverFade
2010-12-13, 13:11
Let's see here.

I work for a large company, and I'm sure most of you have heard of them.

I'm an art director here, and they would like me - in 2011 - to develop atleast one iPad app. I'm not a developer, but I would really be interested in learning how. I know no languages or what not of how to code.

I've done a little bit of homework on it, while looking at some tutorials on youtube, and so on, but that's about it.

I've built a movie in After effects of what I proposed I would like the app to do, but that's a hugely different animal than actually creating one, I know! Lol

So, I know that I'll have to DL the SDK for $99/year and then I'm lost.

Again, I realize that this is going to be quite a huge undertaking for me not knowing how to code, but if someone could give me some refernce points, or possibly some books to purchase, that would be great. I don't need to make anything too complex, for starters, but just something to get my feet wet.

Thank you for any help on the matter.

-JJ

Brad
2010-12-13, 13:38
large company, and I'm sure most of you have heard of them.
I'm an art director
I've built a movie
-JJ

http://www.earthsmightiest.com/images/users/uploads/193/jjabrams.jpg

?!?!?!?!

Somebody please help out Mr. Abrams!

NeverFade
2010-12-13, 14:19
well, I wasn't expecting that sort of reply, more of one that could be beneficial.

** and no, that's not me - if I had the amount of money that JJ Abrams has, I wouldn't be attempting to create my own iPad app!

Wyatt
2010-12-13, 15:03
Okay, nobody try to be funny in this thread any more. It's not allowed.

How about you look at Apple's official info on iOS development (http://developer.apple.com/devcenter/ios/index.action) for info on how to get started? There's a ton of information there, including a page called start developing iPad apps (http://developer.apple.com/ipad/sdk/index.html).

NeverFade
2010-12-13, 17:20