PDA

View Full Version : Custom UIButtons

evan
2011-02-07, 01:50
Hey guys, I would like to create a button that basically resembles a button on the home screen of an iPhone -- there's a rectangular image with a label underneath it, but the whole area containing them both is a button. How do I go about doing this? I'm just getting into customizing the UI stuff and am a bit swamped with everything I'm seeing online. Thanks!

evan
2011-02-07, 14:41
Alright here's what I got so far, and I think I'm close:

- (void)viewDidLoad {
[super viewDidLoad];

CGRect frame = CGRectMake(15.0, 15.0, 84.0, 60.0);
UIImage *buttonImage = [UIImage imageNamed:@"icon_news.png"];
UIButton *stopButton = [[UIButton alloc] initWithFrame:frame];
UIImageView *imageView = [[UIImageView alloc] initWithImage:buttonImage];
[stopButton addSubview:imageView];
[stopButton setTitle:@"News" forState:UIControlStateNormal];
[stopButton setTitleColor:[UIColor grayColor] forState:UIControlEventTouchDown];
stopButton.contentVerticalAlignment = UIControlContentVerticalAlignmentBottom;
stopButton.contentHorizontalAlignment = UIControlContentHorizontalAlignmentCenter;
[stopButton setBackgroundColor:[UIColor clearColor]];
[self.view addSubview: stopButton];
}

The only problem with this is when the button is clicked, nothing happens to the picture! I want it grayed out (like what happens if you set it as the background... but then it stretches to the size of the button and I want the text to show up underneath the picture).

Here's how it shows up, and currently when clicked only the text changes color. (as I specify to gray)

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5256/5425423735_5ce6e58f02_t.jpg

chucker
2011-02-07, 15:03
Instead of setting up your own UIImageView and adding it as a subview, it might be easier to use setBackgroundImage:forState: or setImage:forState:.

evan
2011-02-07, 15:16