PDA

View Full Version : iOS programming for complete novices

torifile
2011-08-27, 22:46
Any pointers on where to start? I'm not interested in learning all that much theory unless it applies to specific programming issues I'll encounter. I have some books but without specific direction I feel lost. I'm not against taking an online course or something to help but I'd prefer it to be very hands on and give me a product that I can use for the apps I'm interested in developing. TIA.

Brad
2011-08-28, 10:49
How much other programming experience do you have? Does "complete novice" in this context mean "none"?

torifile
2011-08-28, 11:37
Some web programming with PHP and mySQL but that's all self taught and I don't know what concepts like object oriented vs. a procedural language, etc. means aside from the fact that Obj C is object oriented. I had some programming back in high school but that was getting on 20 years ago (holy shit I'm old!). Basically, I know enough programming to make sense of what I'm seeing in code some of the time (more so with web languages) but not enough to write my own stuff.

chucker
2011-08-28, 11:50
Well, that's more than I would have expected from the initial post. :) Maybe it's enough for Stanford's Developing Apps for iOS (http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=395605774) (fall 2010) class on iTunes U.

torifile
2011-08-28, 11:59
Well, that's more than I would have expected from the initial post. :) Maybe it's enough for Stanford's Developing Apps for iOS (http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=395605774) (fall 2010) class on iTunes U.
I saw that but I wasn't sure how good it was. I'll give it another look.

torifile
2011-08-28, 23:22